

For Immediate Release:

Announcing the 2024 Festival of Words Youth Creative Writing Competition Winners!

What: Festival of Words 2024 Awards Ceremony for Youth Creative Writing Competition

When: Saturday, November 9, 2024

Time: 11:30 a.m. -12:30 p.m.

Where: The Community Stage at the Thensted Center, 268 Church St., Grand Coteau, LA 70541

Contact: Dr. H. Michelle Kreamer, (337) 482-5781, hmkreamer@louisiana.edu

Festival of Words Creative Writing Competition Awards Ceremony

The National Writing Project of Acadiana (NWP-A) partners with the Festival of Words every year to sponsor the Festival of Words Youth Writing Competition. Students in grades three through twelve from across Acadiana submitted advertisements, multimedia entries, poetry, and fiction pieces.

Winners will be honored through an awards ceremony and reading on: Saturday, November 9, 2024, at 11:30 a.m.

Also, Festival of Words will be hosting various virtual workshops. Learn more about the Festival of Words at https://festivalofwords.org/home.html

Congratulations to students who placed in the 2024 Festival of Words Youth Creative Writing Competition!

Continued

ELEMENTARY SCHOOL:

Multimedia:

1st place—Shane Waid, St. Martin STEAM, "Kat Mayor"

Fiction:

1st place—Mila Backer, Woodvale Elementary, "The Last Dance"

2nd place—Carter Malveaux, Breaux Bridge Elementary, "Stinky Sock Man"

3rd place—Michael Chad Lipari, Episcopal School of Acadiana, "The Picture"

Honorable Mention—Emmali Broussard, Episcopal School of Acadiana, "Sally"

Poetry:

1st place—Marifaye Barrilleaux, Jefferson Island Road Elementary, "Hummingbird Adventures"

2nd place—Adira Farmer, Episcopal School of Acadiana, "The Wind", "Bee Knees", "Flowers", and "Pinky"

3rd place—Rozi Olivier, Episcopal School of Acadiana, "Window"

Honorable Mention (alphabetical)—Piper Reed, Breaux Bridge Elementary, "The Story of Beaux"

Honorable Mention(alphabetical)—Reid Russell, Episcopal School of Acadiana, "Stars, Sun,

Moon"

MIDDLE SCHOOL:

Advertisement

1st place—Jocelyn Rosales, Magnet Academy for Cultural Arts, "Communitunes"

Fiction:

 $1^{\text{st}} \ \text{place--Bryce Brignac, Edgar Martin Middle School, "What Lies in the Summer Valley"}$

2nd place—Anasia Richard, Magnet Academy for Cultural Arts, "Creepy Clowns"

3rd place—Marley O'Brien, Magnet Academy for Cultural Arts, "The Time Machine"

Honorable Mention—Kailey Patin, Parks Middle School, "The Chosen"

Poetry:

1st place—Charleigh Nelson, Magnet Academy for Cultural Arts, "The Balance of Extremes"

2nd place—Alise Lanclos, Magnet Academy for Cultural Arts, "A Little Hope"

3rd place—Natalie Ulmet, Edgar Martin Middle School, "Stream of Conscious Chaos"

Honorable Mention (alphabetical)—Annabelle Dore, Edgar Martin Middle School, "The Rugaroo's Curse"

Honorable Mention *(alphabetical)*—Olivia Tassin, Scott Middle School, "Writer's Block," "Transparency", and "Fall"

HIGH SCHOOL:

Multimedia:

1st place—Sophia Bellard, Southside High School, "Equitable"

 2^{nd} place—Malak Alnesafi, Shayna Chevis, and Aaron Jack, Magnet Academy for Cultural Arts, "Kids at Sephora"

Fiction:

1st place—Kayleigh Cyprian, Magnet Academy for Cultural Arts, "Life in Wonderland"
2nd place—Morgan Tolliver, Magnet Academy for Cultural Arts, "I am Not Yellow"
3rd place—Sha'Layjia Dugas, Magnet Academy for Cultural Arts, "The Night"
Honorable Mention (alphabetical)—Anna Gonzales, Magnet Academy for Cultural Arts, "A Christmas Disaster"
Honorable Mention (alphabetical)— Aaron Jack, "Dark of The Sanctuary"

Poetry:

1st place—Radha Kulkarni, Lafayette High School, "Forever Transient"

2nd place—Addison Fontenot, Magnet Academy for Cultural Arts, "The Familiar Hand"

3rd place—Isabel Rosales, Magnet Academy for Cultural Arts, "Behind the Curtain"

Honorable Mention—Sophia Bellard, Southside High School, "Ambedo"